Tomytec Downtown Skyscraper

gavino200

I bought this model a few years ago. It should have been obvious that it had a solid plastic front, but somehow I didn't make that connection, and I was pretty disappointed with it. But I can't justify leaving it any longer as an "open project" while starting other projects. So I'm going to finish it up. I've got a couple of questions about it.

My understanding is that this represents a glass-front building. It may look during the day like a solid mirrored front, but my understanding is that at night, light would shine through, and that at least some lights would be left on. Is that correct? Or are there buildings like this that remain "unlit" in front at night?

I've considered hacking the blue face off of it except for the doorway, and then trying to construct a new face for it, that has translucent windows. I've never done anything like that before, so it would have to be a "learn as I go" project.

Apart from the solid front, the building has some redeeming features.

Here it is - blue-painted solid front.

CNMuUQN.jpg

The roof top has some nice details and could be painted

nR1J2zT.jpg

Lots of "open" windows on the back and side, begging to be lit. I don't know what those "stick-out" bumps are supposed to be.

dyjp1RS.jpg

A nice big open showroom-type window on the bottom floor.

JR950TH.jpg

I agree it does feel like a piece of plastic. One trick for high rise walls is to start with a sheet of heavy clear acetate or thin clear acrylic and then do a vertical set of window lines all the way up with pin tape. The nail art tape is perfect as less than a mm wide and you can get it in a metallic copper, gold or silver. Just lay out your lines on the computer and print out and ape down your clear sheet over it as a guide to where to put down the pin tape.