Please help a newbie noob!

JR 500系

Hi all! Sorry for being a newbie noob here and probably many of you have answered this very typical question, but i've been scrawling around the net (forum/ google/ youtube etc.) but i still cant get the answer i would need to solve this...

Installation of interior lights in Kato carriages. Yes there are many many threads and videos out there showing exactly how to install, and also the not-so-helpful Kato instructional sheet, but the problem lies here in the Kato E4, having recently bought my Kato 10-008 E4 starter set (ouch).

According to Kato's website on the E4 and also the Kato catalogue, the E4 can use both 11-204 and 11-209 interior lighting, so i went along to buy the 11-206 (6x 11-204 set), and tried to install them like this:

IMG_0880.jpg

I guess it's correct, but i have yet to test it on a track...

IMG_0881.jpg

Am i doing it correctly here? Looks like quite an ok fit to me...

So far so good, just that i wonder how both stories will get lighted up, but that can be solved easily tonight when i get time to test it on a track. The main problem is here:

IMG_0882.jpg

The first/ last carriage of the E4

IMG_0883.jpg

I can't seem to get the light tube in! The nose of the carriage is in the way!

IMG_0884.jpg

Here's an attempt at a closer look. The nose cone bends down BEFORE the light tube hence there is no way to stuff the light tube in? Am i missing something here?

IMG_0885.jpg

Here's a look from the side... You can see the light tube bending down due to the nose cone...

IMG_0886.jpg

And finally a look at the length of the light tube and the length of the E4 body BEFORE the nose cone. It's almost impossible to stuff it in, unless of course one cuts the light tube.. Can that be done?

Assistance and advice most appreciated! Am i doing something wrong here? What can i do to make it work?

Thanks in advance!

*Please excuse the flowery background. It's my wife's favourite bedsheet*

Guest Closed Account 1