Advice needed for a newbie - Tomix & Kato tracks & control system

JR 500系

JR 500系

Hi all!

Firstly, sorry for being a complete noob but i tried searching the forum but couldnt find an answer to these little queries i have in mind... Appreciate if someone can enlighten me on this:

1) In Singapore, the voltage is 230-240V. Is it ok to plug in the adaptor of the Tomix control system directly? I saw in the picture that input = 240V, output = 12V (which is the voltage for running N guage trains), so i reckon that is fine, is it?

2) I'm using (or rather started on) Tomix tracks and layout, with a starter set, hence i do have Tomix tracks and control box. The question is, i've read Kato and Tomix tracks cannot combine with each other, but can be done so using a connector piece. What about the voltage/ current running through them? Is there any problems with mixing Tomix & Kato tracks together and running them using the Tomix control system, or vice versa?

3) Can a train, for example, made by Kato, run on Tomix tracks using Tomix control system? Or Vice versa, a Tomix train run on Kato Tracks using Kato control system?

4) How many control systems are requried to run various trains? (Ok that sounds wierd...) Or rather, do i need a control system for every train i run?

Thank you in advance for guiding a newbie into his brand new world of N guage Japanese trains!

hectorton

N500,

A response from another noob,

1)  I will leave this response to someone more experience from a country with the same voltage you have.  I would suggest you hold off plugging the unit into an outlet until you have a definitive response.  I know Japan Voltage in 100V, 50hz.