Tomix CL with Kato Unitram doesn't seem to work

mojo

I'm a bit new to CL so please bare with me :)

I have a Tomix N-1000-CL controller that, obviously, has Constant Lighting. I also bought a used Unitram from TamTam and when they demonstrated it in the shop the lighting was constant. I should have paid more attention to what type of controller they were using. Anyway, when I try it the lighting only comes on when the throttle is just below the point at which it starts to move.

Any ideas? I was under the impression that Kato models generally worked fine with CL, but I guess maybe they need the Kato high frequency AC lighting controller. I did some searching with regards to converting Kato models for CL operation but couldn't find much in English, so before I dive off into long Japanese threads and blog posts about it I thought I would check here.

There is surprisingly little information on exactly how CL works, or how it differs from the Kato system. Unfortunately I don't have a Kato lighting controller but I'm going to get my oscilloscope onto the Tomix controller to see what is going on. Since Kato don't make theirs any more do they even still support it?

Since Kato don't make theirs any more do they even still support it?

They might have dropped it when they started getting into DCC because I'm pretty sure it wouldn't be DCC compatible.

Good point westfalen, Kato did seem to drop HF lighting rather quickly.

Thing is they had it working in the shop. Maybe I should drop them an email and ask what the set-up is... But I want to have a good understanding of the technology as well. There really does seem to be very little info available, e.g. http://www.jnsforum.com/index.php?topic=2369.0 is about the best Google throws up. Time to investigate I think.

I did find this interesting video which suggests that there is further info on Nico Nico, so tomorrow I'll do some searching there and hopefully find time to do some oscilloscope readings.