Absolute Newbie Question

zeebar

Hi Everyone

I am new to the forum, and my first impression is there a wealth of info here that will be very useful to me. I am jumping in and building a N scale layout after years working with HO scale. I am pretty sure that I want to use either Kato Or Tomix track system.

Can I ask what could a dumb question?

Both Tomix and Kato market track sets like V1 v12 and so on.

It seems to me that the cost of these sets seem to be greater that the sum of the track thats included.

For example I am interested in a overhead double track system, and have seen sets like Kato 20-820 set advertised at around US 150 to Us180, but looking at the part list the cost of the individual items would be no where near that.

Am I missing something here?

Anyway interested to hear peoples experiences

Cheers

Zenon

Tomix gives you more options, Kato can be easier to find (nearly any hobby store will stock basic track pieces, unijoiners, etc) which can be helpful if you get caught short in the middle of assembling track.

As a general rule, Kato's M and V sets cost less than the equivalent track bought separately, but only if you actually need all the track in them. It can be more otherwise. You should evaluate your needs first, and then see what's cheapest.  Tomix is probably the same.

Did you mean 20-820, or something else? In the case of the N1 (20-820), you're probably comparing obsolete prices.  The N1 has been out of production for a long time, long enough to have totally disappeared from Kato Japan's English-language stock list. You may also be seeing people selling the N1 as a "collectors item" with inflated prices.

The M and V sets are the current sets.

Take the V11 (20-870) ground-level double track set, for example: it contains the following (Google translate) and costs $97.41 (current HS price in US $):

248mm WS248PC × 7 straight,

124mm WS124PC × 1 linear,

62mm WS62PC × 1 linear,

WS62FPC × 1 feeder line,