Digitrax board - plug in adaptor

The_Ghan

Some time ago I mentioned to one of you guys (Cap'n, Martijn or KenS, I think) about doing a custom board to plug in Digitrax components and then wire into screw terminals instead of soldering to the spade connectors on the supplied edge board connectors.

I've downloaded pad2pad software (because I don't know what else I can use) and come up with this (see image below).  Sorry, not very good at this as I'm an architect, not an electrical engineer.

What are your thoughts?

Cheers

The_Ghan

post-363-13569928621267_thumb.jpg

CaptOblivious

So, would the Digitrax boards stand perpendicular to this board here? Looks fine to me. No need for the traces to be so thick, unless they are transmitting several amps of current. Could be neatened up a bit, but that is a nitpick.

Never used pad2pad. If you don't mind a learning curve, EagleCad is a good (and free for non-profit use) choice. Still, you seem to have gotten results from pad2pad, so perhaps you oughtn't change just now...

I don't know exactly what kind of "Digitrax components" are you referring to, but if they are standard you can use a perfboard and solder standard connectors to it. It's fast, easy and cheap. The one with straight tin tracks will avoid "bridging" holes.

That's what I'm using in my layout:

DSC04018.JPG

Hope it be useful!

Dani.

CaptOblivious

Dani,

The_Ghan is referring to beasts as these:

PM42-2.jpg

http://www.digitrax.com/prd_powerman_pm42.php

The cards have edge connectors, and this thing you can slide onto the edge connectors with solder lugs. Neither is particularly easy to solder to, and neither permits other kinds of connection. The_Ghan wants a doo-dad that would slip into the edge-connector and provide screw terminals for ease of installation.

That's right Cap'n, a doo-dad!