Basic question about EMUs

First off, I have to admit that this question reveals stunning ignorance on my part, especially given my (largely joking) extreme preference for electrics over diesels. But I'm not an engineer or anything close, just a generally clueless person who likes to travel by train.

Anyway--I had always assumed that, in electric locomotives and EMUs, there was only one gear ratio between the motors and the drive wheels. But often I've heard what *sounded* like a multi-ratio transmission shifting when an EMU or subway train accelerates or slow down. Plus I was just reading harukablue's thread about DMU transmissions. So--do some EMUs have the same sort of multi-ratio transmission, or is what I'm hearing just the result of some electrical operation?

• Like 1
harukablue

I think its the thrystor control?,,,not sure about Japanese units but here in the UK the class 323 is the most prominant.

As for Locos the Siemens Taurus will entertain you with sweet music.

Interesting--those aren't quite the same sounds.

One example--the arriving DC Metro train in this video"

• Like 1
marknewton

I'm not aware of any EMU with multiple-ratio transmissions. The Washington video just sounds like gear and regen braking noise to me.

Cheers,

Mark.

• Like 1
bikkuri bahn

Electric motors don't have transmissions, that's why they have tremendous torque compared to internal combustion-based setups.  The sound you hear is the electrical equipment, namely the VVVF inverters- they often have a stepped sound output, especially on the older GTO equipped packages.  They have even been tuned to make distinctive sounds, such as Siemens' produced equipment.

• Like 1
Mudkip Orange

One example--the arriving DC Metro train in this video"

Don't you love the way those trains sound? Nice door chimes too.

Nick_Burman