JRF container train timetables and organization

ZeeGerman

Hello everyone!  :grin

This is going to be my first post here: I'm a student of railway engineering in Germany and I absolutely have to find out how exactly the JRF container system works for a seminar paper on railway organization.

So as far as I've been able to collect, there is a fleet of trains running between container terminals where these small containers are loaded/unloaded by fork-lift truck. Ever since the implementation of the "Efficient and Speedy Container Handling System" effort has been made to avoid shunting by building through-terminals (rather than dead-end), so the train comes in, stops, gets loaded/unloaded and leaves again. The whole system is rigged with a fancy RFID-Tagging system to prevent the need for guys walking around with clipboards and paper tags.

Now my questions are:

-Do the trains stick to one line and go back and forth all day?

-What is the route structure like, more direct trains or more hub-and-spoke?

-How many stops does the train make on its course?

-Are there different classes of trains, like long distance trains which stop at major hubs and short distance which stop at every terminal along the way?

-How long does a stop usually take?

-As in passenger transport, the container will usually have to change trains a few times. How long does this take?

Best would be if you could somehow give references or something that looks like a subway map, but for containers.  :laugh:

Thanks a lot for your help.

I hope Japan has recovered somewhat from the disaster.

Hi everyone, and thanks