Question about diode bridges/rectifiers

Tenorikuma

I'm a total electronics newbie and I'm trying to rig something up for buildings.

The idea is to have a 9-12V bus, and then in each building, have a standard circuit consisting of:

diode bridge » 20 mA current regulator » LEDs (in series)

The reason for the diode bridge is that I won't have to worry about matching up the polarity. However, I have no idea what part to get or how to read the datasheets. Would anyone know if this would do?

http://jp.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Central-Semiconductor/CBRHDSH2-100-TR13/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMu5uoOCJ4OfqqzZegZvOUof

Or how about this?

http://catalog.chtechnology.com/item/bridge-rectifiers/single-phase-diode-bridge-rectifiers/26mb05a?

(But how do you solder that kind of thing to a circuit board?)

Or maybe this one:

http://jp.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Vishay-Semiconductors/KBU4A-E4-51/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMtcLAek5QF0iwu6i7RElklMqNve1OjwR%252bk%3d

CaptOblivious

Tenorikuma,

The first one has about the right specs, but would be tricky for a novice to solder. The second one is very much overkill, and as you point out, is also not going to be easy to solder but for entirely different reasons.

The third one you listed is about right, though! The pin spacing is a bit non-standard however. If you are soldering to generic perfboard, you should try to find a rectifier with pin spacing to match your board. Standard is 0.1" (2.54mm).

You might also consider just a single diode. If you apply power backwards, it would simply prevent the circuit from energizing, but it might be easier to work with in terms of soldering and circuit design.