How is the Tomix Thomas the Train Set as a starter to use with kids?

gmat

I'm looking for something simple and rather kid proof. Has anyone used this set? Anything to watch out for? I haven't played with trains since I was a kid and was sometimes allowed to play with my father's set. I also got a Bandai B Train Shortie and plan to convert it to run on the Thomas set tracks. Or is there another controller that is better suited for kids?

Moving to the dark side.

Thanks for any advice.

Best wishes,

Grant

CaptOblivious

I've heard the Tomix Thomas stuff are some of the best-running N-scale locos out there. Otherwise, I have no experience with it…

How young is "kids"? And just how kid proof?

In the US most N scale/railroad stuff comes with warnings that it is not for children under 12 or 14. All of it uses live power on the rails so a "child" could always hurt themselves or start a fire, since they're basically playing with exposed wires. Personally I think responsible children especially if supervised are at no risk playing with model trains; however they are far from "kid proof", being fragile and expensive little things (even Thomas is more then $50 just for the locomotive with one car, and selection and supply are limited).

A different option for younger kids is Tomy Takara Plarail:

• Track is inexpensive and carries no current (trains are battery or kid powered)
  • Trains and track can take crashes and not break
  • Big selection of Thomas stuff
  • In Japan there are lots of "accurate" prototypes available for Plarail
  • Trains are much less expensive - toy budget instead of model budget
  • Several wireless remote controls exist, much less expensive then DCC

CaptOblivious

I second the Pla-Rail stuff. My 2-year old daughter loves her set, and even when her friends are over and playing rough, it holds up quite well. Very durable, and a lot of fun.