Kato 800 Shinkansen Bullet Train Tsubame 6 Car 10-491

Guest Closed Account 1

Guest Closed Account 1

Hello:

Newbie here.

I am wanting to buy the Kato 10-491 Tsubame (Swallow).

Can anyone confirm with a fresh picture that the body is white and not some weird beige as seen in some pictures online?

Kato Japan's site says "The body of Perfect White, a beautiful reproduction body paint of fresh red and gold decor of the corporate color line" but some sites show a bad beige hew.

Also is this baby DCC friendly and does anyone know the pole count of the motor?

Any chance we can create a Shinkansen Forum within the N Scale Forum?

Krackel Hopper

hey hey,

My father won an 800 Series off Ebay just recently.  I can indeed confirm that it is white.  It is a beautiful runner and Kato doesn't skimp, so I would assume it's a 7 pole.. not sure on DCC compatibility.  I'm sure there is someone on here who can give you a rundown on the DCC install.

Welcome to the forums!

Jon

webskipper - Welcome to the forum!

I'm attaching a photo of my Kato 800 Tsubame, to let you judge for yourself if it's truly white.  

The Kato version is a 5 pole motor and is easy to solder in a decoder into the motor car which is in the center.

If you want to control the headlights in the head and tail cars, you'll need a decoder of each car. So for total DCC control, you'll need 3 decoders.

post-22-13569926334823_thumb.jpg

• Like 1
CaptOblivious

I don't think Kato ever produced a model with a 7-pole motor. According to The Ghan, this model should have a 5-pole motor according to it's inventory number:

http://www.jnsforum.com/index.php/topic,3599.msg35889.html#msg35889

Still, I can certainly attest that even Kato's 3-pole motors are champs, and the 5-polers are flat-out jaw-dropping at low-speed operations (I've gotten my Kato EF65 down to about 1–2 scale MPH).

Guest Closed Account 1