The "sociology" of model railroading

bikkuri bahn

Don't know if anybody has seen this, but a very interesting, though admittedly overly long and rambling opinion piece on the social institutions and relationships of the model railroading hobby.  The author, John Bruce, apparently created some controversy in the model RR world (or rather the on-line model rr community) by publishing this piece.  I found the second half of the tract better than the first, especially the section about the American model railroad press and what the author believes are its shortcomings.  I find these opinion pieces on the hobby quite interesting, as I am a social scientist by education, if not trade.  Too often on the forums, any talk about the hobby relating to demographics, business decisions, and so forth are quashed by moderators, or by members touting the mantra- "stick to models!" or "it's just fun" (playing with my toys).

http://trainweb.org/lfnwfan/html/Sociology.htm

• Like 2
CaptOblivious

Membership or participation in an e-mail group or forum can be a rewarding way to get information and experience good fellowship. But if we want to advance the status of the hobby, we need to be concerned with maintaining a high level of courtesy and mutual respect. We should withdraw immediately from groups that do not enforce a high standard of conduct on all members, and we should insist that our leadership maintain such standards. We have both the right and the responsibility to report anyone who sends unwanted, abusive e-mail to their ISP, and if the e-mail contains actual threats, to law enforcement. Hobby activities should not need to concern themselves with this kind of behavior.

Halfway through the article. Quite long, and surprisingly insightful. I like this guy.

Wonder if he's ever been to our forum…

I was hoping for more