KATO 10-510 Shinkansen 500 is there two different versions?

Spaceman Spiff

Spaceman Spiff

Hi, I am new to Japanese railroading and thinking about picking up Shinkansen 500 train as my first foray into Japanese railroading. Is there two different versions of the set ie: loco in the front or power supplied by a coach car? Is this correct? If so is there any difference between versions ie: newer, easier for decoders installs, better running?

Thanks

Spiff

CaptOblivious

It is very rare for a bullet train model to have the motor in one of the cab cars (one of the end-most cars). (Exceptions: Tomix E4 and 400-series bullet trains). There are others here who have this model who can give a little more detail than I can, though! :D Welcome to the board!

There were two different releases of the Nozmi 500 Series by Kato, the 10-510/511/512 set, which has a four-car basic set including the motor car (which is in one of the coaches, not the cab car) and the earlier 10-382/383/384, which had a seven-car basic set and apparently you needed to buy multiple 10-384 sets to make a full 16-car train, something you can do now with the three 10-51x sets.

I don't know much about the older model (it's been out of production for a long time; the 10-510 came out in 2006). I have the newer model.

Kato also offers the model in a 10-003 starter set. Since this was released in 2006 also, I'd presume it's the same four cars as in the 10-510 set (they look the same in the photos on Hobby Search's website). The booklet that came with my 10-510 also listed the 10-003 as being the same four cars, which would seem to confirm it.