Kato track and digital

colprit

Hi all, how well does Kato track deal with digital and do you have to adapt thier points so that no short circuits happen, as I am new to this model railway hobby and my friend who knows a bit more about it keeps asking me questions about the track, as I am keen to use it when I build my layout. AS he is into peco track but was quite impressed when we viewed it at a model railway event we went to recently.

With the exception of the Kato 20-605 three color signal and the Kato 20-650 operational crossing (the one with lights that activates automatically) there is nothing about Unitrack that makes it incompatible with DCC. The turnouts/switches are power routing out of the box (the #4 can have the power routing feature turned off) and all 4 tracks of the double crossover are fully isolated. The only thing to keep in mind is that with the switches, and certainly with the double crossover, is that you'll want a feeder on both sides so that power is not cut off to one track (or not supplied at all with the double crossover) because of the isolation.

Many people use Unitrack for DCC layouts, and the #6 switch can even be wired with an internal decoder (I forget the item #, I believe it's a Digitrax decoder) so that there are no visible wires or other pieces - both power and commands are sent through the track to the switch.

Many people use Unitrack for DCC layouts, and the #6 switch can even be wired with an internal decoder (I forget the item #, I believe it's a Digitrax decoder) so that there are no visible wires or other pieces - both power and commands are sent through the track to the switch.

I think that's only for the HO #6 switch (if you know of one for N-Scale Unitrack, I'd be interested in more info).

Otherwise, I agree with everything you said.  I was running a DCC train on my Unitrack last night.