Tunnel portals before or after plaster?

Well, I've never built a tunnel, but I'd say "before".  You want the portal to be "in" the landscape, not stuck against it, and having the cloth come down on the top and against the sides seems like the best way to accomplish that.

Before - as everyone stated. You want to be able to replicate the after effects of nature. The greenery or over growth of shrubbery overlays certain areas of the portal. 

Inobu

Claude_Dreyfus

Pretty unanimous here, however you may have some exceptions.

Not wanting to be too anal here, but in my experience it does depend on what you are trying to create. In many cases, I would always recommend adding the portal before the plastering, for the reasons given before. It also means that you have a flat surface on which to attach the portal, before adding the uneveness of the plaster. On our layout, the tunnel portals (actually cut in half drain pipes!) beneath the motorway were added before any of the plastering was started to blend them in.

There are tunnels where the portal sits proud of the landscape, especially in some US and Japanese mountain-traversing lines. Here the tunnel portal looks like an after-thought...in some cases they are replacements for tunnels damaged by landslips etc. For this type of tunnel, it may be easier to complete the rock-face before adding the portal.

Pretty unanimous here, however you may have some exceptions.

There are tunnels where the portal sits proud of the landscape, especially in some US and Japanese mountain-traversing lines. Here the tunnel portal looks like an after-thought...in some cases they are replacements for tunnels damaged by landslips etc. For this type of tunnel, it may be easier to complete the rock-face before adding the portal.