Shooting a Moving train in Low Light Conditions

I'm saving up to get a better camera to replace my Samsung digital. I'm not satisfied with the clarity of my shots when shooting a rapidly moving train, especially when it's very cloudy or late in the afternoon. I'm looking for a camera that will; a, have a pretty rapid rate; b, auto focus quickly enough, in low light conditions. If anyone has experience with the Nikon D90 versus D5000, does the former fulfill the above requirements enough to justify the cost or am I looking for the impossible?

I used to shoot aircraft with a Nikon F2 and F3, so I have some experience, but can no longer use them.

Any advice or suggestions would be welcome.

Best wishes,

Grant

My train photographing was done in the days of film, with slower trains, and usually from a greater distance.  Even then, I needed to get a shutter speed of 1/250th of a second to freeze the train, which was hard to do with ASA 64 slide film! And I usually had to give up on any depth of field (i.e. use the lowest f-stop).

These days with settable "ASA", I expect you could get 1/500th with reasonable lighting, but you'll get more grain (technically I guess it's "noise", but it looks like film grain) as you boost the ASA, so there's going to be a tradeoff of grain versus blur versus f-stop with fast-moving trains and low light (assuming you have a camera that lets you set them manually; if all it has are pre-sets, you'll be stuck with whatever their "sports" setting does). A better camera probably has a better CCD, which means better low-light performance.

These days I use a Canon EOS 40, which does let me set all the necessary stuff manually (or not), and works well even at ASA 800; but unfortunately all I photograph are model trains, so I don't have any useful experience with photographing fast-moving trains in low light digitally. And I don't know anything about Nikon's product line.