T-Trak(ish) Idea

scott

I've been fiddling around with ideas for modules to (eventually) make up a Japanese layout. A recent doodle, which wouldn't fit in the space I thought it would, led to the attached drawing (from RailModeller). It's based on T-Trak "alternate" spacing, but in this version the module is double-width, and as deep as an alternate-spacing corner module. It was too crowded otherwise.

Any thoughts, criticisms, etc., would be welcome.

The red line is a double-tracked interurban line. The green line is a small-scale scenic route running small railcars or EMUs.

post-151-13569923951817_thumb.jpg

Is the spur to the building a freight siding, or something else?  To me, it seems to clutter up the scene, but I have limited knowledge of that kind of prototype.  Is there a specific place/idea behind this, or a feeling of place that you want to convey?

I see the elevator/stairs, but are they up to an overhead corridor or down to a tunnel?

And if it's rural (as it looks), why not just have a track-level pedestrian crossing to the platform instead?  That seems to be common, even in somewhat urban stations, as long as it's not a Shinkansen or a major commuter line. You'd need a ramp down at one end of the platforms, but that could also be how people get to/from the parking area. Some pedestrian crossing gates and flashers would make a nice scenic accent.

And if you're going for a rural feel, maybe replace the house with two smaller houses, to give more of a village feeling to the scene, assuming you can make that fit.

Just some thoughts.

I have limited knowledge of that kind of prototype.

I'm making this up, so there's not much to know. :-)

This would be a terminus for a small railway, so the siding would make room for extra/off-duty EMUs.

Is there a specific place/idea behind this, or a feeling of place that you want to convey?