Help: N scale model train shopping suggestions in Japan

ers22007799

ers22007799

Hi guys,

I am a new model train hobbyist, and so glad find this forum. I will visit Japan next month, including Tokyo and Osaka.

I got few questions to ask about N scale model train shopping in Japan.

1. Do the local store and its online store have the same stuff? Such as Super Kids Land HQ Osaka and its online store :https://joshinweb.jp/top.html

2. Looks like same stuff is cheaper in Osaka than in Tokyo.

3. I knew few store in Tokyo and Osaka, such as Popondetta and Yodobashi in Akihabara, Super Kids Land in Osaka. But are there any others stores you would recommend?

4. Are there any used or second-hand stores that must be visit?

Thank you so much.

GeorgeHInch

My personal favorite second hand store is Hobbyland Pochi. You will find these in most major cities. Akihabara has two but the one closer to the station has a little bit better pickings IMO. The Popondetta in Akihabara is in a five story building with a whole floor dedicated to second hand, so if you are looking for something specific I think this is the best place to start.

One annoying thing about these stores is that prices can vary wildly across them for essentially the same product. It can be helpful to just browse a couple stores before buying to see if one location has the best price. Super easy to do in Akihabara but less easy in cities where there isn't a five minute walk between stores.

• Like 1
GeorgeHInch

Oh and also worth noting, for the second hand stores if you buy a locomotive that comes in a jewel case or full train that comes in a bookcase, they have a test track to let you try it before you purchase. It can be a bit hard to manage this interaction if you don't speak Japanese but usually they will gesture towards it to give you the opportunity. I suggest you just do a quick run of the end and motor cars just to make sure it works as expected (though I've never had an issue.)