Layout Plan Advice

Kotori

Hello!

New modeler here, starting in N scale.  I’m planning to model JR, but haven’t decided which region yet.  I’m currently working out the details and planning for my layout; due to space constraints I don’t have a lot of room.

I’m new in the sense that I’ve got the Kato M2 plus a structure and a couple Shinkansen and that’s it.  I’m planning to pick up the switching set and the viaduct too.

My question is, is it more important to focus on adding trains or adding more track when just starting out?  I know scenery is important too, but I kind of figured that would be added after all the track is planned out.

Any advice, suggestions, or tips would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks and happy modeling.

• Like 1
MeTheSwede

There are no right and wrongs. It's up to you what you want to do.

There are those who collect trains and barely ever run them.

There are those who enjoy constructing complicated track work.

Then there are those who build scenery and sometimes fit a train and some track among it.

If you plan to have scenery, there is no need to wait. Making some experimental stuff that can be used with temporary layouts is a great way to get practice and you can get a temporary set up on the kitchen table look good when viewed closed up from the right angle.

As for adding trains, I got a grand total of ONE piece of rolling stock for my first layout, but quite a few trees. 😄

There isn't a favoured way to go about it.  More trains is good.  But on a small layout, you could only possibly run 2-3 trains at once.  So too many trains early may just be a waste.  Same goes for track.  Unless you know what you really want, you might be buying too much too early.  Kato unitrak is a little rigid in how you make your layout, so go slow buying track sets.  Buy a set , test, repeat.  Don't even worry about scenery until you have a running track plan you like for your needs.

Hello @Kotori,