Kato 2026-1 C59 repairs - guidance welcome

ED75-775

As I've previously mentioned in the 'What did you order or the post deliver' thread, I purchased a Kato 2026-1 C59 for ¥12,500 during a visit to Hobby Land Pochi in Osaka Denden Town. These are nice locos, and at a more reasonable price than those usually found online which are incredibly overpriced, no doubt helped by the fact this model was only in production for two years. Mine however came with an unwelcome bonus in that the original owner had glued three of the number plates onto the locomotive and made a mess in the process.

Since the locomotive's arrival into New Zealand as a partially-disassembled vehicle, I've removed the old number plates and scraped away some of the glue. But I need a bit of guidance on how to proceed with getting rid of the remaining residue and covering up any damage without making it plainly obvious that I've been at it with any sort of sharp pointy objects or finishing papers. I've no experience touching up models, or even redoing an entire finish all together, so any guidance or offers of mentoring would be welcomed.

Anyway, here's some photos of the damaged parts pre-removal of the old plates:

IMG_8492.thumb.JPG.f8afadf727c207ef319bde3bc5f8fd78.JPG

IMG_8493.thumb.JPG.df169af608a6313e5db8a76c2a6aa7ed.JPG

As can be seen, the left (driver's) side of the cab isn't too bad and in fact would be relatively manageable. Not so the right (fireman's) side of the cab where it looks like just enough wasn't enough, or on the smokebox door where the glue applicator may have slipped just a little. They're not the most recent photos, but they do give an idea of what I'm working with (and some of what you see has already been removed since these photos were taken).