Multimeter do you own one if so what kind?

bc6

I'm thinking about getting a multimeter and I m looking for some advice on what brand I should get. I'm looking for something not expensive but has a good amount of features on it that would be helpful for model railroading thanks.

I am no expert in Multimeters. All I ever needed was check resistance, the obvious "beeb" connection thing wich name I forgot, and voltage measure. TBH for my means every cheap AF Multimeter does that job. Not seen anyone I would rather use as well.

• Like 1

These days just about any multimeter will do the trick for the main model rr tasks of voltage, amperage, and resistance. If you look around for a well reviewed $20-40 multimeter you will do fine. Yes it won’t be ultra precise, but well within good enough for the readings you will need. You can verify against some standards to see how it looks if you worry. I have a number of them (no big name brands) and they are all with in few percent tolerance, plenty good enough for the normal model rr stuff. Big thing is to get the features that fit doing simple model railroading stuff and how you like interacting with the multimeter. When I use to do a lot more electronics I had a fluke and a big old bench heath (both I got great deals on slightly used), but even then it was a bit overkill and unless you’ve got a lot to spend really not needed.