Help needed with Tomix Hello Kitty Digitrax DZ123 installation

This is my first attempt at installing a decoder in a Tomix motor car and it hasn't been a smooth installation so I'm reaching out for help. I've read lots of stuff on JNS, YouTube and Google and I feel like they are all missing steps in the installation process.

I started with the basics meaning the Digitrax manual and completed those steps until I was told that I needed to isolate the motor from which I'm not sure if I'm doing correctly. 

If someone could check my I would appreciate the help. I can post pictures on my blog or here whichever is more convenient for you. Im willing to do just about anything within reason to get this train running on dcc, Thanks for your attention.

For someone to help you will need to outline what you have done with pictures and some questions specific to where you are stuck.

what is it you think you are not doing in isolating the motor? Isolating the motor just means breaking the current path on both sides of the motor to reroute them through the decoder. This break does not have to be right at the motor. Many times the motor has contact strips that press onto contact power strips in the chassis and this is where you can break the current path with an insulator (like some Kaplan tape or sliver of styrene) and connect the decoder leads directly to the motor and the chassis power strips then. This is part of the “art” to decoder installs to find the cleanest way to break the current paths to isolate the motor and where best to attach the dcc leads to motor and chassis power strips once the motor is “isolated” as chassis designs differ a bit even with the same brand.

probably best to post it all here to keep the conversation in one spot as folks referring to stuff on your blog from here will get messy fast.

jeff