Possible new rail-interest area - northern Japan Sea coast

scott

[There may be inaccuracies or stupid statements below--I've never been to Japan, and I'm new to Japanese rail modeling, so please excuse any lapses. I'm not trying to sound like an expert, just an interested newbie.]

I've been interested in the Tohoku region, and the electrified lines of Hokkaido, for a while now. Hokkaido is still somewhere I'd like to go.

But lately I've been getting interested in the Japan Sea coast, and the area where JR West and JR East meet, from the JR West Hokuriku Main Line to the JR East Shin'etsu Main Line. There seems to be an interesting mix of trains.

There's a whole mess of limited express and express trains along the Hokuriku line, including the Thunderbird, and some overnight trains that connect farther north, like the Twilight Express, the Nihonkai (which I already have a locomotive for), and the Kitaguni night train (583 EMUs, which I really like). The Shin'etsu line has some of the same long-distance trains, plus apparently a bunch of locals, etc.

And the south end of the Hokuriku line is at Maibara, which is the end of the line for the Haruka, which I also already have.

Anyway, just sort of thinking out loud--I don't know if anybody else is into this, but I've been having fun looking into it. Between a simple atlas of Japan, the various wikis, and the Kitayama site, you can find out  a lot.

qwertyaardvark

I have alot of interest in the Hokuriku Main Line and Hokuriku Railway Ishikawa Line as all my visits to Japan had Kanazawa (Ishikawa prefecture) as the destination. The Thunderbird was literally the third Japanese train I ever rode. The Narita Express, and 200 are my first and second respectively. For the weekends I got off from presentations, Kanazawa was my home base of operations, though mainly to travel about instead of railfanning since I wasn't the J-rail fan back then as I am today.