Twin motor units within Tomix shinkansen, one works...

Eurostar25

I've got a bit of a dilemma, I've purchased a 12 car Tomix E7 shinkansen A and B set that comes with 2 motor cars.

The main issue I have is that both motor cars work on their own on the piece of track, however when coupled together with the 12 car consist, one motor pulls normally and the other is stalled. I have limited electronic knowledge but can understand that 1 car is getting all the current whilst the other isn't.

How do others run these 2 motor car units on the same track without DCCing them? All my other shinkansen sets only have the 1 motor carriage so I've never struck the problem before.

I'm using a Tomix N-1 5504 power unit, it appears to have a 500mA output

Any help appreciated otherwise this will be a set that will perminantly sit at the station.

The motor cars are speed matched in the factory and if always run together, they keep the same speed profile. On the other hand, one of them should have traction tires while the other shouldn't. You can test them by running them side by side on a double track straight from the same controller and they should run around the same speed. If one of them is noticably slower and they are used, you can try to clean out the slower one to improve it. (Modern dual motor sets have power couplers, so both units get the same power and only the condition of the mechanical parts matter. For older sets dirty pickups can be a problem too.)

Interesting that you should say that about the traction tyres (I can see why they'd do it, and it makes perfect sense). My older Tomix 500 Series Nozomi (92082 and whatever the item number is for the additional powered coach) has twin motors, both of which have traction tyres.

It's also prone to making horrible buzzing/growling noises despite my having dismantled, cleaned, and re-greased the drivetrain on both power cars repeatedly. Wish I knew why!