Questions about scratch built houses and Kobaru products

ScooterTheGreat

ScooterTheGreat

Hello everybody,

There are four questions I'd like to ask, one about scratch built houses in Japan, one about Kobaru products and one about both. The final one is just a general question.

Question 1) I am planning on building, among other things, narrow style houses, similar to the Tomytec Building Collection Narrow House B (I forget which number). However, whenever I google Japanese Narrow House, it always comes up with architectural one-offs, not the prefab, mass designed, regular sort I'm looking for. Anybody have any pictures?

Question 2) I am planning on utilising Kobaru road marking dry transfers such as this one http://www.1999.co.jp/eng/10353698. However, having fallen in love with the trains without having yet gone to Japan, I'm not very experienced with road markings. Could someone provide a detailed guide to road markings in Japan that would mesh well with the Kobaru transfers?

Question 3) Through lack of better materials, the houses I will make will be made out of Kobaru materials (eg Puranoita Roof Tile http://www.1999.co.jp/eng/10300509). Does anybody have any experience with these materials, including windows, doors etc., and if so, can I see pictures?

Question 4) Sort of ties into question 3. What paints do you use for your houses, including things for window frames, wood, roof tiles, etc.?

I cannot find any english info about the Kobaru houses in numerious searches.  The kobaru website doesn't even have examples:- http://kobaru.com/products/mp.html

Greenmax do housing kits that come with all you need to build a complete house.

s-l300.jpg

As for road markings.  Google street view is you best bet.  Very basic support for their road products on their website:- http://www.kobaru.com/support/ms-03.html

Edited by katoftw
  • Like 1
ScooterTheGreat