Tomix Kiha 40-2000

disturbman

So, as some of you allready know I've just received a parcel from Japan yesterday and it was containing my first Tomix (yes I'm brand new in Japanese model railroading): two Kihas 40-2000.

156_21_03_09_5_00_55.jpg

And, to say the least, I was totaly impressed by the nervousness of these (or should I say this, since just one have a motor) littles runners. They just fly on the tracks compared to my Kato EF63.

I'm not yet down on the detailling and I allready have some questions for you. For my test run I just put together my two Kihas using the allready installed couplers and I've had no problem on the very thight curves of the KTL (aka Kitchen Table Layout). But, after some teste run I open the box and peak a look at the notice. Where a nice drawing and some Japanese sentences where showing me that I can/should add a new, more regular looking (to me), coupler-head. So that's my question should I or should I not try to add this new head since everything seems to work just fine right now.

156_21_03_09_5_03_54.jpg

Sorry for the questions but I think I will have plenty more in the futur.

Vincent - First off welcome to the JNS forum.

I'm not familiar with the Kiha train you bought but I'm sure someone here is and can answer your question about converting the coupler. Usually it isn't too hard to do.

I have a question for you, is that Peco flex track that you have the train on? And if so, what are you using to create your curves on the Kitchen table?

Feel free to ask all the questions you want, that's why we're here. ;)

Thanks for the answer,

No, it doesn't seems hard at all. I can see that I'm not clear enough. I'll try to explain myself in a better, clearer way.

- Existing situation: out of the box the kihas are equiped with very small and "elastic" couplers. They work wonderfully and make a very realistic (for me) situation when the kihas are coupled together.