Unitrack question(s)

mgary

Unitrack newbie here, I am building my son a n scale layout with uintrack and had a couple questions...1) where do I place the insulated unijoiners? I have a large oval with 2 turnouts 2) How many power leads should I use on 4x6 layout? 3) What would be the recomended power pack?  Thanks for the help, and let me know if I need to be more specific.

CaptOblivious

If it's just an oval, and you aren't using the turnouts to create a reversing loop, then you don't need insulated Unijoiners at all. The turnouts are power-routing, which means that they conduct current from the converging route (is that what it is called?) to whichever diverging route is selected by the points. That is, if you have the turnouts set up to create a passing siding, power will be routed into which ever of the sidings is selected by the turnouts.

So, no need for insulated joiners. And you'll only need one power drop to the layout for a layout that small. Be sure that it is placed somewhere outside of the sidings, that is, along a stretch of single track.

Finally, Kato's entry level power pack is a very good one, not very expensive, and has the proper socket for the Unitrack power feeders. Just about any throttle that puts out 12–14VDC to the rails would be just fine (I use a Tomix; lots of people here like MRC and GaugeMaster throttles), but you will have to find your own way to wire the Unitrack power feeder to the throttle.

CaptOblivious

VA (volt-amperes) is a measure of power; it tells you how much current it can supply for a given voltage. So, really, you cannot have too many volt-amperes, because you can never have too much capacity.