New member, need help opening Kato JNR passenger cars

kmcsjr

Hi all,

I'm new to JNR. I bought a few locos last year, but just found that I really like JNR passenger colors. Anyway, I've put lighting in my Kato SP Daylight set and I've opened a number of other cars in my day, but no luck here.

I have 5015, 5016 and 5017

http://www.katomodels.com/product/nmi/12kei.shtml for pics.

I've twisted squeezed and pried these things about every way I can think. I've removed the wheels to get better access, I've unclipped the base of the doors at the end of the cars. The paperwork that came with the cars (all in Japanese) seems to illustrate light installation. If I could only open them.

Any Guidance would be welcome. Thanks

Marty

It should be the regular operation of push the side of the shell outward while pulling the base out. You could use the truck for this operation.

I'll move your thread to the correct section.

OK, I got one. Yikes, they definitely used a different design for keeping the shells on. i thought for sure they would snap. They are meant to stay on! Not complaining (well yeah I am, I think they are very nice cars and I like that they are so solid.

In contrast, the SP Daylight shells come off easily and lend themselves to repeated adjustment of the lighting. Which is good, as I seem to need to make repeated adjustments.

Before I reassemble this car, does anybody glue the light boards into these unit? I'm thinking woodland Scenics Accent Glue, as it comes offI don't think I want to reopen these cars because the board or the lens shifts.

And now for prototypical question

I am using kit 11-210 (Interior light sets with LED)

I think these cars were pulled by steamers. Would the lighting have been/be incandecent of fluorescent?

Thank you,

Marty