Model Railroading: a balance between function and realism

Mutro

As a novice to Model Railroading, I’m realizing that often, I’m faced with making compromises between functional practicalities vs prototypical accuracies.  Decisions regarding which couplers to use, shaving off parts of a #4 turnout to make them operational, running train sets which may not have coexisted on the same line in real life, etc.  Virtually every choice involves some sort of balancing and compromising one vs the other. Not very skilled or experienced as a beginner, I tend to favor functional practicality over prototypical accuracy, expedience over diligence. When asked why my layout lacks scenery, i.e. Kato unit tracks laid bare on white formica tabletops, I just tell them to imagine a white winter scene. LOL!   As I gain knowledge and experience in the years to come, I may become more skewed toward prototypical accuracy and realism over functional practicality. But for now I’m okay rationalizing and enjoying a mix of the two coexisting in my layout.  

How do the experienced modelers come to terms with this?  Does it evolve over time?

Model railroading is always a complex tradeoff and balance of many variables. it a perpetual juggle to find the permutation that fits your likes, needs, budget, abilities, etc. its also a great journey to learn new things as you go along in the hobby. Thats one of the great things i love with the hobby is it has so many different skills you can learn and apply into a larger hobby!

Ask lots of questions at each step and get others' opinions, but always remember what works for them might not be what you want and can do. we each hae our own pretty unique permutation in the hobby and you can learn from others their permutations and likes and dislikes, but they dont have to be taken on as yours!