Sankei Valley (HO, 1/80, 16.5mm)

John P Boogerd

John P Boogerd

I am about to start building my first HO layout that I will name Sankei Valley after the building kits many of us use on our projects.  I know there is a Z-scale layout by the same name in Continental Modeller last month and that's where I got the idea for this name.  I also got some great ideas from that article.  I have never built a layout before - I did have a Lionel store display layout when I was a kid and I have snapped together some track on the floor for a few hours.  This will be a learning experience to be sure.

In the 10x12ft room that I have been allotted by a higher authority in the house, I will build my layout in two sections.  I plan a 4x8ft table that will represent an urban area with a small area of older shops and cafes and another with some more modern buildings.  On the other side of the room, I plan a 4x6.75ft table that will represent a rural area.  These will be connected by a 1x1.5ft piece that will represent water like a river with bridges.  There will hopefully be a double-track line around the circumference of both tables and across the river connecting them for express trains, an Enoden line from the rural to the urban area for the Modemo and Tramway Enoshima railcars that I have, a small tram line in the old town area, and if I can figure a way to do it a single point-to-point line for my Endo class 110 railcars.  I know that's a lot but I will do a little at a time and see how much of that I can fit in.