HELP! Weird scratching sound coming from motor car???

SubwayHypes

Hey i am relatively new to train modeling so i dont know what to look for in this.

I recently purchased a Kato e651 Super Hitachi Lighted set that looks awesome.

It was listed as brand new, i bought it from ebay for $140.

When i first put the car on the track it wouldnt run, i reved power and all of a sudden it took off. 

It ran fine for a couple of minutes, but now it has this pretty loud scratching electrical sound coming from the wheels of the motor car.  The sound is not coming from the magnetic plate in the middle, but clearly from the wheels on the left side.  The train still runs fine and teh cabin lights up, but the noise is worrysome to me.

WHat should i do?

Btw, heres a quick video of it in action.

Its easily my favorite train so far, but the noise is pretty bad!

Trains sometimes are noisy when first run.  To break in my trains I usually run them for 30 to 60 minutes at the slowest possible speed that allows movement.  I run them forward and then backwards. This warms up the motor and allows the lubricants to seep in, as I understand it.

The other possibility is that the radius is too tight for the cars.  Kato trains are less tolerate of tight curves than Tomix trains.

Subway,

Can you make another video with just the Hitachi running and making the noise you're describing?

I'm just wondering if it might need some oil in it's gears, but you said the noise sounded electrical?

To me it sounds like the gears in the trucks need lubrication and also points on the motor.

Here is a thread on that topic in the forum:

http://www.jnsforum.com/index.php/topic,246.0.html

Lets see what other members think.

[/quote