Koki container cars

keiichi77

Hi everyone, I am new to the form and would like some help. I am interested in getting into Japanese N gauge for a small freight layout, specifically Koki trains. After some searching I found out that there are many different types of Koki cars and was wondering a few things about them.

I am going to purchase a 5 car set of Kato Koki 5500 series cars.  I would like to run a train with a mixture of different types of Koki cars, but only if it is prototypical. All of the videos I have watched don't show a mixed variety of cars, usually a train had one or two locomotives and 10 to 20 Koki cars of the same series.

How long were the 5500 series cars in use, late 1980s 1990s etc?

Would you find them on a train with say 100 series koki cars or some other series at any point in time?

The Kato set i am looking at is only $55US for the 5 cars, which it rather cheap compared to other Koki sets I have seen...are these cars decent in quality/detail?

Any help would be appreciated. :grin

CaptOblivious

The 5500 are quite old, and I believe were retired a few decades ago. Modern stuff that might be run in a consist include 50000 (that's fiftythousand, not five-thousand), 250000, 35000, and 100 series. 200 series I guess might be mixed in as needed?

Glad to have another KOKI person here!

Thanks for the info CaptOblivious, I think I will pass on the Koki 5500 5 car set.  I will have to keep an eye out for some of the more modern stuff. What online store do you prefer for ordering Koki cars? Thanks again.

CaptOblivious

Good deals often crop up on ebay, but by and large I use the usual suspects. (See elsewhere for the list; I hope to do a FAQ on this topic soon)

• Like 1