Microphone for recording trains?

CaptOblivious

CaptOblivious

One of my projects while I'm in Tokyo in December is to take field recordings of ambient sounds at Akihabara Station. If I can afford it. I've got no experience with taking field recordings, and I need some advice. I'm looking to do three things: First, take non-directional ambient recordings of crowd and traffic noise on the plaza below the station, and at the platform. Second, take modestly directional, preferably stereo with a high separation, recordings of specific trains as they arrive and leave. Would prefer to minimize ambient noise in these recordings. Third, if possible, take highly directional recordings of station announcements, etc.

I'm on a tight budget! I know I can't achieve all three goals with just one mic, but I wonder if anyone here could advise me on mic selection and recording medium?

Don - What we use when we are on location shoots are "shot gun" mics. We also take along either a "blimp", fuzzy sock, or a foam insert. This is in case we are filming under noisy or windy conditions. Mind you these mic can be very expensive. Here is a link to B&H to give you an idea of what is out there:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/buy/Shotgun/ci/8533/N/4291086008

What do you plane to record to MP3, DAT tape, etc.

What is extremely important is to give an audio "head slate" as to what you are recording so you have a record/log of what you did. (My sound effects editor gets really angry when a location sound person doesn't do this.) I'll ask her what she uses when she goes out on location shoots.

CaptOblivious

Those can be very expensive indeed, although I do see one inexpensive option. You don't think a shotgun would be too directional, do you? But perhaps that's what I need…instead of recording an entire ambient soundscape, record it one piece at a time, and then put them back together algorithmically in a layout module to form dynamic ambient soundscapes?