Visits to Stockholm

Claude_Dreyfus

Claude_Dreyfus

Over the course of the year, I have made three visits to Stockholm for work purposes. Owing to the nature of my visits, I have not had much time to check out the local trains; however last week I had the twin benefits of being there on my own and being there during the summer.

Here is a slection of pictures taken mainly last week, although a couple are from March when it was still very cold and snowy. I'm not an expert on Swedish trains, so have no ideas what they are.

Part 1

These were taken from the Arlanda Express on the inbound journey, hence a couple not being of spectacular quality...

post-141-13569924808081_thumb.jpg

post-141-13569924808465_thumb.jpg

post-141-13569924808606_thumb.jpg

post-141-13569924808809_thumb.jpg

post-141-13569924809208_thumb.jpg

• Like 3
Claude_Dreyfus

Part 2

These pictures come from the south of Stockholm Central station mainly on the two viaducts passing Gamla Stan

post-141-13569924836888_thumb.jpg

post-141-13569924837302_thumb.jpg

post-141-13569924837722_thumb.jpg

post-141-13569924838092_thumb.jpg

post-141-13569924838501_thumb.jpg

post-141-13569924839001_thumb.jpg

post-141-13569924839444_thumb.jpg

post-141-13569924839831_thumb.jpg

• Like 1
quinntopia

Hey...are those buildings by Kibri? ;-)

More seriously, thanks for sharing Claude!  Some of those electrics are recognizable (don't know the class, but they sure look a lot like DB locomotives), but the EMU's and the varying paint schemes are all very interesting!  Looks like very interesting scenery as well!

bikkuri bahn

Yes, some of those shunters look like DB types.  I see a couple of historic electric locos in the loco shed picture too (Class F and RA?).  Nice green(?) paint on the RC types- I'm a sucker for conservative paint schemes.

Some comments about your Stockholm pictures:

Locos on shed:  Hagalund depot, mainly used by SJ (the largest passenger operator).

From left: