Thoughts on a new layout

alain10025

I recently started to use XtrackCAD and I am really please with it. It helps me plan for the next update of my layout. Here it is: 

reseau.thumb.png.080ac824234e075a110bf1a0a12aa57b.png

Any thoughts or comments ? I am still pretty new to the hobby so I would be happy to get your thoughts ! Thank you.

• Like 2

Welcome Alain, 

wow lots of track!

Xtrakcad is a nice program and being maintained pretty well. Good to keep notes as it’s one program that I find I forget a number of the moves after not using it for a few months. Frustrating but some notes cured that pretty fast.

have you set up track yet just on a table and played with your trains much yet? It’s a good thing to do before diving into a big layout to see what you like and don’t like in your playing with trains. Some folks find they hate ovals and want something more complex, others find they want more or less scenery. Hard to see with 2D (or even 3D) track planning. But running trains a while gives you a lot of direct feedback quickly. Starting right off with a layout this size it might be worth getting some inexpensive folding tables to try some different plans out and play for a while and experiment with some of the heavy point sections to see if it works good enough to make you happy. Just mock up sections so you don’t need to buy a load of track. Luckily most track would later be used in the eventual layout anyway and track actually holds pretty good value and used Unitrak sells for decent prices at shows and on ebay.