(Steam) Train Engineer Experience

Yugamu Tsuki

The IL Rail Museum has several different "Take the Throttle" experiences. I have been trying for years to get one of the rare slots for a steam train but finally managed to snag one. June cannot come soon enough.

I wonder is anyone else has gotten a chance to run trains before at museums.

• Like 3

Well, actually, I've only ever driven one steam locomotive before. As a member of the Tramway Historical Society, I have driven our Kitson steam-tram engine on a 'have a go' day in 2016. That, and I've had a steer of a Burrell steam tractor (light traction engine) last year at Queens Birthday Weekend during the 2022 FRONZ Conference.

I'm also an electric tram driver at Ferrymead, and as we're right next door to the Canterbury Railway Society, some of our members (including myself) are members of both groups. One happens to be involved with the CRS' Electric Traction Group, and in June 2021 he let me have a drive under his tutelage of the railway's 1923 English Electric Eo-class B+B electric locomotive, seen here on the day it happened:

IMG_4995.thumb.JPG.0a6e201da18f2d66a8b6210f74c9d0b2.JPG

I was the duty tram driver that day, and Mike was kind enough to give me a drive over the kilometre or so of electrified track at Ferrymead, following part of what was our first locomotive-operated railway in New Zealand. The controls on these are very similar to tram controls, and thanks to a handy isolating valve in the cab, Mike could cut the train brake function out for straight air brake functionality (I've only ever had straight air training on the trams). It was an experience and a half!

Alastair

• Like 1
17 hours ago, Yugamu Tsuki said:

I wonder is anyone else has gotten a chance to run trains before at museums.

Its a fairly  common fund raiser at various museums.

Seaton Tramway (UK)

https://www.tram.co.uk/events/view/drive-a-tram

Seashore Trolley Museum

https://trolleymuseum.org/visit/be-a-motorman-program/