Scale topsail schooner Julia

tossedman

I really have no idea what I'm doing as I've never built a model ship before but I stumbled across Robert Wilson's website and purchased his topsail schooner Julia booklet and thought I'd give it a go. Bob Wilson is old school hand tools but I thought I'd throw some digital technologies into the mix. I drew up the deck in Adobe Illustrator and cut it out using a laser cutter. Then I saw Robert Hunt's article, Planking Decks in the MSB Journal on the Ships of Scale site so I added planks. Then to see if it worked I added treenails but they're so tiny you really have to look to see them. I should mention that this is only 151.6 mm long. I laser cut some templates out of matte board for the hull and then cut the hull out on the band saw. Here's this week's progress. This ship is 1:192 scale but when it's done, I think I'll enlarge it to 1:150 scale and make another. Easy to do digitally.

Here's the first iteration of the deck.

IMG_3426.thumb.jpeg.8158ff12317c9da27f00c55cacb34d47.jpeg

This is the Illustrator drawing with the planks and treenails added.
1091637580_JuliaDeckFinal.thumb.jpeg.2a374f39c0a6e4177863124f640bca6e.jpeg
Here it is laser cut using 1/32" basswood.
IMG_3429.thumb.jpeg.62e829d0bd16fd4b7ce2c66c706104d9.jpeg

The whole deck and nothing but the deck.
IMG_3428.thumb.jpeg.ddc296aac534b37e9500cbdc1a585438.jpeg

The matte board templates.
IMG_3423.thumb.jpeg.8c7380ccceaabb309ffe93a8e9dfb618.jpeg

The hull and deck. The hull is bandsawn.

IMG_3431.thumb.jpeg.d22f5d18fc98ecaa04e8ccfdffbb1cc5.jpeg

To be continued...

Cheers eh,

Todd

Edited by tossedman
  • Like 3