Interest in Japanese rail

sirenwerks

This is my first post, as I just joined. Normally, I am an N scaler modeling the Pacific NW of the US, circa early 1970s. My wife and daughter and I moved to anew (used) house in Oregon a few years back and remodeling the house is taking much longer than expected due to me switching careers and COVID. Since my new career is as an emergency manager, I have been busy with COVID and the growing wildfire seasons here, and travelling a lot.  So an N scale layout filled with Alcos and timber traffic will be a while.

In the meantime, I have been watching a lot of real-time Japanese contemporary railroading (I watch the videos while running on the treadmill at home and in hotels) and become interested in it. My attraction to modern Japan is with the smaller locos and shorter trains and the prevalence and variety of passenger service, and the modern architecture, and I am thinking about a fictional line to keep my modeling muscle memory alive and score some train movement in my free time between house chores.  I am really interested in having a larger scenery to track ratio than normal to highlight Japan's natural beauty as well as the helter skelter of its urban environments, so I am thinking Z scale and, because I like to scratchbuild and wat to learn 3D printing, I'm looking forward to the challenge of creating Japanese architecture in such a small size.