Absolute Beginner's Diorama

sutenai

Having finally given in and decided to try my hand at some train modeling, I thought I'd make a small thread on my project. Mostly to try and encourage myself to actually follow through on it. I've decided to start small, thinking that reducing the scope of the project will also increase my chances of "success". And I use that word very loosely, because I have 0 idea what the heck I'm doing. Never done railway modeling before, nor am I particularly "handy", for lack of a better term. This is going to go well!

The one thing I did know was that I wanted to model a real-world place. I don't care that much about the trains themselves as much as what I associate with them, so I knew right away it would have to be something I had some sort of emotional (?) connection to. I considered making a station, but in the end settled for just a "slice of track" that represents a very vivid memory of my first trip to Japan. I've since learned that the E353 has run on this line to boot, so that just makes it even better!

I'm going for an A3 size footprint, simply because the materials available to me fit that size with minimal fuss. I could've gone T-trak, but I'm not that stressed out about being able to use this for a layout. I don't even have any trains or anything anyway 😄 (for now... dun-dun-dunnn!). Secondly, I'd have to order the track from abroad which is a hassle at the best of times - and knowing myself I need to get started ASAP before I get distracted! N-scale is rather limited here, so the only thing I could get my hands on was Peco flex-track. Which is completely pointless for this, since all the track is straight... buuut I also ended up having to buy quite a lot so maybe it'll be useful for later projects 😄 (did I mention I'm a complete noob and mostly incompetent?).