Yet another Woodland Scenics Scenic Ridge layout… ^_^;;

qwertyaardvark

qwertyaardvark

I can’t take it anymore! I can no longer contain my jealousy for yall’s permanent layouts that my floor-laid Unitrack layouts simply cannot compare to…

Alas, I have literally zero experience with the model railroad tools of the trade and needing somewhere to start, I’ve had my eye on the Scenic Ridge kit for quite a while and I’ve decided to go ahead and bite the bullet sometime after new year’s. I figure if someone else pre-plans and pre-packages all the materials for a layout for me, I won’t dig myself too deep of a hole; this is mainly to keep me from modeling Tokyo Station for the first try. (I *heart* my shinkansens) :P Also, being a college student, I want/need to keep financial (and other) disasters to a minimum. On the other hand, I do intend on stepping off the beaten path and somewhat modifying the layout a bit.

As far as prototypical-ness goes, it will probably not match reality verbatim, but hopefully it won't be too terribly far, and a particular line/region won't be modeled. Since this is more like a practice layout, it will be planned with a kicks-and-giggles kind of mentality. It will set in a modern-day-ish small rural town. I will also pretend there is a rail fan trip on that given day, so there will be a C62 and “selectively compressed” shortened Tsubame car setup trailing behind it. (or to hell with it, I’ll go ahead and attach all 13 cars on there) ^_^ I may also run my EF65 and 24系25形 Blue Train cars through the region...

Other features/changes from original manual instructions:

-a given: all Japanese buildings and structures; station might be added

-simple DC system powered by Kato power pack

-code 80 Peco flex track with concrete ties

-removing the small stream and culvert

-adding rice paddies so I still have a chance to play with water-modeling products

-moving/minimizing sidings and turnouts; marking turning radii larger