Assalamualaikum, Salam Kenal dari Indonesia!

AhmadKane

Assalamualaikum, Salam Kenal dari Indonesia! 

My name is Ahmad, but I go by my English name Kane. You may use either one as you wish. I'm a Medical Student in Bandar Lampung as well as a lab researcher and paramedic. I hike, golf and travel in my spare time. My favorite hobby however, if I could, is trainspot. I've been a trainspotter since kindergarten, and would wait for the Tokyu 8500 Series with red and yellow PT Komuter Rail Line livery passing through. 

I don't know what else to say... I'm 188cm tall, coffee and tea loving guy. A hopeless romantic and an aspiring Jack of All trades. I'm a writer, a sketch artist, a chef and an entrepreneur to name a few of a shitton of things I somehow do but people don't believe I do. 

1219589350_.jpg.4284eb8b03508d62148aae5524c8c0d8.jpg

(CC206 Diesel Electric Locomotive by GE)

I would like to share about Indonesian trains. The unique fact about Indonesia is the inverse driving side of its commute. Normally in countries they would only adopt one type of driving side. If you drive on the left side of the road, you'd usually drive the tram and the train on that side as well. But Indonesia had been appropriated by the Dutch and the Japanese for years. As a result, we adopted the Japanese style of driving by driving on the lefthand side with a righthand car. But for trains, we adopted the Dutch where they drive on the righthand side.

Also, we have such a wide array of trains. In the 1950's we ordered nearly 100 steamers from across the world and a couple of diesels. But mostly due to the Asian Economic Crisis of 97 - 98. Only 3 survived and operable, the rest are unrestored and left for display. The rest are scrapped, and most illegally. 

27113624999_6cb9141339_b.thumb.jpg.07807c047af8a6d8689338ab4168dcbf.jpg

(Tokyo Metro 05 Series with PT KRL livery)