Does a D-51 and an "old passenger car set" go together?

Scoobster28

I will be the first to admit I don't know much about Japanese prototype trains. I am primarily an American modeler. But, I wanted something to run when I exhibit my Japanese-themed T-trak module at shows. Instead of randomly buying stuff online and having it shipped here, I found a couple of vendors at a large American train show (Springfield) who had a couple of things for sale that caught my eye. One was a Kato D-51 mikado locomotive (2016-9), and the other was a set of Kato "Old Passenger Cars" (#10-034). After seeing what I thought was the D-51 on the back of the passenger car box (and checking with the Kato display table at the show... why not go to the source!) I bought both items. But, now I have a couple of questions:

1.) Will the engine look somewhat correct pulling those coaches? They don't have open vestibules which is what older American coaches have, and aside from looking dark brown I am not sure. I think they look nice together, that's for sure.

2.) If I wanted to purchase some period-correct freight cars for the engine to pull, what would you recommend?

3.) What era would the engine and coaches fit in? Some companies list it on the box and Kato might have but I don't read Japanese!

Thanks all!

Edited by Scoobster28

What was the product number for the Kato coaches? D51s were used until the 60s on freight and there is a preserved example that still runs excursions currently. 

1. I'm not 100% sure, which the set the 'old passenger cars' exactly is, but I suppose it is Kato 10-034? If so, the combination is perfectly valid. There is one suggestion on the Kato home page on that train set, which demands a D51 (plus two more coaches - note that the white rectangles in the roster are the coaches in the set, the grey ones are models outside of the set)