Analog Cab-Style controller

medusa

Hi all,

since there are a lot more analog drivers than I thought first, here is some more detailed input about an purely analog cab-style controller. Cab style driving a model train is the greatest thing at all. I'll never again miss my controllers. Feels so much better playing with them. Yes it is like driving a real train. :D
Inspiration came from the Tomix cab-style controller. Of course all this can be done digital also (even if probably the smallest ARM processor still is overkill for that job), but I simply didn't want to. I earn my money by writing low-level drivers and porting C++ algorithms to embedded DSP devices. After a workday, I certainly will not do anything digital at home. No way.

post-4432-0-04818300-1482183792_thumb.png

On the other hand, in the past still being a student I had to do some practical exercises about analog computers (yes, I'm that old). So, why not doing cab-style control by kind of such? Lets check:

- Model train standard controller: control of speed. Speed increases with voltage.

- Real loco or EMU: 2 controllers. One for motor power, one for the brake. Power control controls the amps of the motor which (ideally) means acceleration. Brake valve controls deceleration (which is acceleration with a negative sign).

So... we remember from high school physics lessons, speed equals integral of acceleration over time. Going to analog computers, all we need is an integrator circuit which gets power control and minus break valve settings as input, and it will output a speed signal like a standard controller.
Link about integrator circuit: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Integrator

post-4432-0-56701900-1482183775_thumb.jpg

That's the simple circuit I set up. Published it earlier in 1zu160 forum under GPL license so feel free to use it.