Drivers Route Knowledge Diagrams and Line/Track Diagrams

NXCALE

Hi all,

Just sharing some DRKD I found.

These are from the Sydney Trains Network (Australia)

https://railsafe.org.au/diagrams/drivers-route-knowledge-diagrams

Plenty of info and interesting stuff. Below a couple of examples.

A tunnel before entering a yard which is next to the sea.

An interesting idea for a layout.

Cheers,

Nxcale

Edited by nxcale
  • Like 2

Interesting, and useful, I am going to Sydney for a couple of days train and tram riding and filming in December.

I'd give you a link to QR's route maps but even as a driver I can only view them on a QR internal site.

Interesting, and useful, I am going to Sydney for a couple of days train and tram riding and filming in December.

That sounds nice.

I'd give you a link to QR's route maps but even as a driver I can only view them on a QR internal site.

Thank you anyway.

I will be nice to see more DRKDs from different countries.

Cheers,

Thank you anyway.

I will be nice to see more DRKDs from different countries.

Cheers,

Agreed.

I can't even scan them and post them because we are not allowed to print them out.  I am always amazed at how much more operational information I can get on other railways than I can on Queensland Rail who I work for.

A tunnel before entering a yard which is next to the sea.

Not quite the sea. Lavender Bay is part of Sydney harbour, a long way from the entrance from the ocean. The single line from Waverton neck down to the yard is probably the most scenic bit of railway in Sydney, but it is normally only ever used by empty car movements. At present the line is being used during the day for refresher training in powering from the rear and driver incapacitated procedures for train guards. As most of the line is on a falling grade of 1 in 50 it's a good place to practice train handling, especially braking.