Staying Mobile

MechaDen

So my trains and everything is still in storage. I know I'll need a modular layout but I'm still quite new at this so I'm not sure how to fully plan this, along with wiring. I'm thinking I want to convert my stuff to DCC. Previously I just used blocking to run one train at time, but that's quite boring after a while.

I move around a lot so I can't really keep a permanent layout anywhere. But I do need to figure out a few things before I get my stuff back to plan my next layout. Where I am I was told getting some materials [wood] could become quite expensive since my location is kind of isolated, so I need to figure out what I have available at a decent price too. Didn't think I'd have to try and price hunt for raw materials which will affect the type of layout I decide on. So I guess I need to ask, besides wood and foam, are there any other possible materials I could use? The floor?

Mecha,

You might want to look at the T-Trak forum.  I think T-Track is a great way to start.  I wish I would have gone this way.  

Go to Youtube and type in "n scale coffee table".  You might get some ideals there.

Don't know what your stable contains, but there are some great layout plans for trams.

I have attached a few photos of layout that I found intriguing.

Mark

post-2939-0-65853000-1470967769_thumb.jpg

post-2939-0-35251200-1470967790_thumb.jpg

post-2939-0-17215000-1470967888_thumb.jpg

Edited by toc36

I'll dive into T-Trak then. It's amazing how much I forget about this if I don't stay invovled in it.

I like that first photo, whenever I hear of book case layout, I think of just one shelf, not the whole book case.

Edited by MechaDen
I'm not sure yet if I'm going to go with T-Trak, depending on how I approach it, it could be easy and fun, or long and difficult.