Power supply for combined Japanese, Euro, USA n scale

wmsnyder

Greetings. I'm completely new to model trains, but am at a stage in life when I can afford some n scale trains and envision a time when I might have some time to create a layout! I'm in the process of purchasing some locomotives and rolling stock. My fantasy layout (won't bother you with the details!) will involve mixing European, Japanese, and USA brands of locos and rolling stock.

I bought a Minitrix starter set that comes with a power supply and simple track arrangement. The Minitrix power pack says:

Input 120V AC 60Hz

Output 20,8VDC 18VA

I also bought a Series 10000 Tokyo Metro Subway (Yurakucho/Fukutoshin Line) - 4 Cars Set - Kato 10-1259 (KA-10-1259)--I think Japanese trains are very neat.

Will it be safe to test run the Kato on the Minitrix track with the Minitrix power supply?

I look forward to reading more on the forum--very thankful I found it! and learning more about Japanese n gauge.

Thank you very much, in advance, for your advice and help.

Bill

N scale analog trains usually need at most 12V DC on the track. The question is what is the output voltage of your speed controller? A photo of the controller would help too if you can't find the value.

Bill,

I'm going to give you advice based on what I know today. Your best move is to purchase the Woodland Scenic ST1482 kit. This is a DIY kit that has the basic components to building a small layout. The kit gives you the "materials" needed in completing a layout itself. I must mention that you will need a few other of their "tools" to efficiently complete the kit. There are additional kits, the track and buildings. S1485 and  ST1882 (Atlas 2588) that will complete the layout. Notice there is a notorious nickle and dime scenario which seems to be the norm when it comes to the hobby. It is quite expensive as you alluded to in your opening comment. This initial endeavor will cost you $700 but it will put you well ahead of the norm.