An idea I just had..

Martijn Meerts

Martijn Meerts

It's not entirely off-topic, but it doesn't really fit in with the other topics =)

I work as a webdeveloper working mostly with xhtml, php and flash. Recently I've also started working in Flex (basically Flash, just with some extra functionality).

The thing with Flex is, you can make things look like a regular application, but it runs online using the Flash player. It can connect to databases and has all sorts of stuff built in. What I was thinking is making some sort of model train database tool in Flex, which would allow people to sign up, and keep track of their rolling stock etc. They would then be able to compare with others as well.

When someone enters a locomotive and all its details (prototypical speed, weight, power, image(s) etc.) all that will be stored in a general database. When someone else then tries to add that same locomotive to his personal database, the program will use the already available data, so it saves a lot of typing and researching. Should the locomotive in the general database be updated, those updates will show on everyone's personal version of the loco as well. The general database can even include decoder settings far various decoders etc. Of course, a lot of other stuff would be possibly, like comparing your personal decoder settings with other people's decoder settings, or comparing databases, maybe even a feature that would allow grouping of individuals, effectively turning them into a club. That way the club knows exactly which trains they have.

Purely theoretically, it could be expanded to include much more, such as track inventory, buildings inventory, possibly even personalized blogs/galleries, all based on a single database that holds all the data. People could even be able to upload things like trackplans made in a variety of programs, or track diagrams from computer control programs, effectively turning it into a centralized backup/storage space.