new but noisy and slow motor

jrcrunch

hi,

this is my first time to have a HO and tomix trains. i was excited but dissappointed with my train. the train i got is e231-500  Ho-053 and Ho-054

http://www.tomytec.co.jp/tomix/products/ho/ho053-5_397_8.htm

the train runs very slow and very loud compared to my N-scale trians and kato trains

as you can see in my video, i am using a kato standard powerpack, speed is just normal, not really fast, when the train hits the curved tracks, it gets really loud. (it is annoying)

https://youtu.be/lyQR9f6EgTM

there a times it is struggling. i feel so unlucky. i just opened this one. 

https://youtu.be/-9Ni3vCV1pE

the motor is really loud, i think it doesnt enough torque or power to carry the other train cars :(  i tried it with 6 cars and it runs really slow, then tried it with the original 4 cars but same result :(

https://youtu.be/PnW0IOlAp34

https://youtu.be/NFHgYx6h_Kc

i was so excited by this set and  it is an expensive purchase 

Edited by jrcrunch

Are you sure you aren't running it on a too small curve? The instructions mention a 'Minimum radius R490 (except for the S-shaped linear)', so your curve radius should be at least 49 cm (a total diameter of 1 meter). Running the train on a small curve would force the top cogs of the driven bogies against the drive worms and result in a grinding noise. If the train is run for a longer period this way, the top cogs might get damaged or in the worst case stripped. This is very similar to the effects of running an N scale modemo tram on a too small (R103) curve.

ps: First, i would check if all wheels are turning on the motor bogies smoothly when it's powered laying upside down, to eliminate any stripped cogs or broken/displaced cardan shafts. If the mechanics are undamaged, then i would try to turn the bogies (still upside down and still under power) to see the minimal silent turning radius.