small Japanese layout

Blobby

hi - I'm completely new to n gauge and Japanese models - I haven't very much space so I'm working on a 4 by 2 foot layout (120cm by 60) tho I can make this a bit bigger if needed. My preference is for a crowded city scene, possibly explore DCC and to be able to expand at a later date

The layout 2x400001 on this site: http://www.cke1st.com/m_train2. htm caught my eye as being a good framework to adapt. Has anybody looked at/used this one or have any comments?

Cheers

Bob

post-3155-0-74361900-1432559673_thumb.jpg

• Like 1

That's a nice american prototype freight layout. Doesn't have much in common with Japan though. Imho, you have to decide if you want passenger only or freight too, commuter trains, expresses, then what operations/running do you want to do. You have to option for moving buses and trams too.

For example, for a crowded city with a commuter line only, you might want to look for an elevated mainline with a yard at street level or do what is common in Tokyo and make the terrain rise and drop around the track so it can be an elevated line on one side, run at street level in the other, then go into a cut or even a tunnel on the third side. This allows the track to stay level while having a bit of everything. There is not much space for ramps, at least for ones that most trains can climb.

Since you have only 120x60 cm and the suggested turning radius for most japanese mainline trains are around R280, this means you can squeeze in a single or a double track oval hugging the edges, while train lengths have to remain between 2 and 4 regular 20 meter cars.

An example layout with Tomix tracks:

post-1969-0-70942900-1432570248.png

You can add a yard or a terminus to the two stub tracks and a double track station with curved side platforms to the right edge. Building a layout this small might need a lot of kitbashing or scratchbuilding, but the one above is doable with mostly off the shelf parts.